PCGS-graded Victoria Cross Limited Edition 1oz Proof in Box

as low as £4,874 | 0.13786283 BTC

Or call us on: 0800 902 0000

A single company of jewellers, Hancocks of London, has been responsible for the production of every VC awarded since the medal’s inception. Until recently, it was thought that all VCs had been cast from the bronze cascabels of two cannons of Chinese origin that were captured from the Russians at the siege of Sebastopol in 1855.

In 2004, a national Victoria Cross and George Cross memorial was installed in the Ministry of Defence building on Whitehall in London, which is open to the public.


Coin Weight:
Gold Purity:
The Commonwealth Mint
Tristan da Cunha
CGT Free:
  • Free Insured Delivery on All UK Orders
  • Capital Gains Tax free!
  • VAT free
  • Price promise guarantee* - We will match online retailers
  • Secure payments


VICTORIA CROSS – 2016 – 1oz .9999 PROOF GOLD £100 Coin

The Victoria Cross, or VC as it is commonly known, is the highest award for gallantry that a British and Commonwealth serviceman can achieve. As such it is always the first award to be presented at an investiture, even before knighthoods.

The Victoria Cross originated in the Crimean War of 1854-1855. This was the first major conflict in which war correspondents reported in the field, and it was from this experience that William Howard Russell of The Times called for an award for valour that could be given to the common soldier. At this time, only senior officers were awarded medals for bravery as it was considered to be their leadership that drove men on to victory.

The VC was introduced on 29 January 1856 by Queen Victoria to honour acts of valour during the Crimean War. Since then, a total of 1,358 Victoria Crosses have been awarded, of which only 15 have been awarded since the end of the Second World War: four in the Korean War, one in the Indonesia-Malaysia Confrontation in 1965, four in the Vietnam War, two during the Falklands War in 1982, one in the Iraq War in 2004, and three in the War in Afghanistan in 2006, 2012 and 2015.